Heinlein’s Rules Success for All Writers

The best book on writing I have read.

Peace, Love and Black Birds
6 min readJan 8, 2020
Photo by Amazon

I just finished Dean Wesley Smith’s book entitled Heinlein’s Rules, Five Simple Business Rules for Writing and it is, hands down, the best book I have ever read regarding writing. It has inspired me to step up my craft and to treat my writing as a professional would and instead of a hobby. Mostly, it has gotten me to write. Write and then write some more.

Wesley Smith has written over 200 novels and hundreds of short stories including books licensed by Men in Black, Spider-man, Star Trek and X-Men. He has conducted writing workshops where he assisted aspiring writers with their dreams. In his early beginnings as an author, Wesley Smith discusses his struggles as he attempted to sell his work until he stumbled across an article written in 1947 by science fiction writer Robert A. Heinlein.

In this article Heinlein discusses his recipe for writing success, “The five rules … are amazingly hard to follow — which is why there are so few professional writers and so many aspirants and which is why I am not afraid to give away the racket.”

Wesley Smith read Heinlein’s Rules and explains, “On January 1st, 1982, I made a resolution to … follow Heinlein’s Rules…. I wrote 44 stories that first year and started selling regularly in early 1983 and…

--

--

Peace, Love and Black Birds

The middle part of life? It changes it all. Come explore with me as I attempt to figure it all out.